I MADE IT THIS FAR..

41lUZZ2a-AL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

THE NOVELLA

Longer than a short story, but shorter than a regular length novel. Most writers have very little success with Novellas. They are too long for magazines and too short for conventional publishing. Literary agents usually won’t even touch them. So why would I write them? Because I love Novellas.

There have been many successful Novellas. Breakfast at Tiffany’s, Old Man and The Sea, and Of Mice And Men just to name a few. It’s a challenge for any writer to build strong characters, describe scenes and bring the plot to conclusion in just a few words. That is what I find amazing.

People are busy. I myself have a full time job and two children. When I do find time for pleasure reading I want something short, to the point and that I can finish in an hour or two. I am not putting down the full length novel, I love those as well. But when time is limited, and you crave a good story, then Novellas are the way to go!

I grew up reading the great pulp detective stories. The cigarette chomping, cynical and sarcastic detectives. The impossible situations. I had thought of writing something when I was in high school. Even had an english teacher tell me at the time I had quite the talent for writing. The problem was I didn’t think I could do it. My passion had yet to be sparked.

I remember when I was twelve years old my parents bought be a nice leather bound collection of the works of Mark Twain. I don’t know how many times I read Huckleberry Finn. They were buying me books and I guess I never realized that I read more than most of the kids my age.

I was in twelfth grade when I finally made the decision. I was in the hospital for an appendectomy. Back then an appendectomy required a hospital stay. My homework had piled up and I was not in the mood to look at. Sitting on top of the giant stack of books was a small, thin red covered book. My english lit homework.

I got bored as hell watching television. So I decided I would see what I was not learning. I picked up that small, thin book and read the entire thing in about four hours. That book was The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger.

When I put that book down after both laughing and crying I said to myself, “This is it. This is what I want to do. I want to write.”

For more than twenty years I have wanted to be a writer. Those years have rolled by and I barely wrote more than a few hundred pages toward any story. I did all my writing in journals or in my mind, especially trying to sleep. Oh the classics I wrote in those late hours in my mind only to have it all shattered by dawns early light.

Had I even written just one of those ideas..

I am reminded of a quote by Henry Miller while he was racing home to write losing ideas he said, “I should be rich enough to have a secretary.”

Not long ago I turned 43. I don’t know how that happened. At any rate something got serious inside of me. I have now written 2 novellas in three months with another one coming.

I made it this far..I am not going to stop now.

Check out my website. There are descriptions and a few samples to download. I have no money to get it in the big search engines. So tell your friends.

I am a mystery, suspense and fantasy writer.

http://thenovellawriter.yolasite.com/

Check it out. You never know what may happen.

Thank you and goodnight.

P.S. All my posts aren’t going to be biographical. Just wanted to give an introduction.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

